London Training Update: Feb 2024

The Official Playlist 🎡 + Sponsor Happy Hour! 🍺

Happy Leap Day Friends!

I’ve officially made it through another month of training, and we are now less than two months until race day! This past weekend, I completed my 14-mile long run in unexpected springtime temperatures. β˜€οΈ

While Punxsutawney Phil and Meg both predicted an early Spring 🌷 this year, I don’t want to ignore the fact that March remains Colorado’s snowiest month. Fingers crossed for more sunshine with eight weeks of training left to go! πŸ€žπŸ»πŸƒπŸ»β€β™‚οΈ

Unveiling My Official Race Day Playlist! 🎡

When I launched this fundraising campaign, I wanted a special way to connect with each person who helped me reach the starting line. I’ve always enjoyed making race playlists for each marathon I run. Not only do they provide motivation to keep going πŸ’ͺ, but they also make beautiful time capsules to listen to later. Like 2019 being my Summer of Lizzo! 😎

While there are still several sponsors pondering their song selections πŸ€”, I thought I would reveal a first look at the playlist. I really enjoyed seeing what songs everyone selected. Not only do my sponsors have great taste in music, but some of you were also very clever in pairing your songs with the location of the race.

From Eminem singing β€˜Lose Yourself’ at the 8th mile of the race to Bon Jovi telling me, "Whoa, we’re halfway there” at mile 13. It all builds to a beautiful pairing of running to β€˜Eye of the Tiger’ when I reach the London Eye 🎑.

πŸ“† Save the Date: Sponsor Happy Hour on Sunday, April 14th at 2 PM

Before we fly out to London, Meg and I want to buy our sponsors a pint and toast to your generosity! 🍻

Unfortunately, this event is for Denver only. If you plan to be in Denver on April 14th, please join us at Pints Pub by the Denver Art Museum at 2 PM.

Address: 221 W 13th Ave, Denver, CO 80204 (Google Maps Link πŸ”—)

Cheers friends,

-Matt