London Training Update: March 2024

One month to go! ๐Ÿƒโ€โ™‚๏ธ

Welcome to Spring, Friends! ๐ŸŒท

Marathon training is always full of ups and downs, and that goes far beyond the hills I train on. This month started off brilliant! (Iโ€™ve been practicing my British slang. ๐Ÿ˜€)

Brilliant: Often used to describe something that is wonderful, excellent, or great news.

The brilliant news is that I took 1st place overall ๐Ÿ† in the 5K I raced on March 2nd! The race was called the Lucky Dog Dash, and I had to run hard to avoid being tracked down by the owner running with his Vizsla in 2nd place. ๐Ÿถ

My 5K finish time was 18 minutes and 35 seconds (5:59 per mile pace or 3:43 minutes/km for my loyal Canadian sponsors! ๐Ÿ).

Proud Husband Alert! ๐Ÿšจ - Meg also ran this race and finished in 1st place for her age group with a time of 28:42! Her reaction was priceless, as this was the first sports achievement award in her life.

Way to go, Meg!!! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

You probably already know this section is going to talk about the low point of the month, donโ€™t you? Yep, your intuition is correct. Unfortunately, I caught a nasty cold ๐Ÿค’ that kept me away from training most of last week.

On the bright side, I didnโ€™t have to shovel any of the 14 inches of snow โ›„ that hit our neighborhood last week. Thanks to Meg for literally bearing this load ๐Ÿ’ช while I was sick on the couch getting greyhound cuddles from Ruth.

The good news is that Iโ€™m on the mend and starting to run again. I am confident that Iโ€™ll be ready for race day on April 21st.

As a reminder, all Denver folks are invited to join us for a pint before we leave for London. We hope to see some of you there next month! No RSVP is required.

๐Ÿ“† Reminder: Sponsor Happy Hour on Sunday, April 14th at 2 PM

Meg and I want to buy our sponsors a pint and toast to your generosity! ๐Ÿป

If you plan to be in Denver on April 14th, please join us at Pints Pub by the Denver Art Museum at 2 PM.

Address: 221 W 13th Ave, Denver, CO 80204 (Google Maps Link ๐Ÿ”—)

Cheers friends,

-Matt

PSโ€”If you havenโ€™t submitted your song yet, please do so by the end of March so it can be added to the final race day playlist. ๐ŸŽถ

/